Comics For Kids and Younger Teens

9780307931603_p0_v2_s260x420

Holm, Jennifer L., and Matthew Holm.Extreme Babymouse. New York: Random House, 2013. Print.

Summary: Join Babymouse as she hits the slopes and learns how to snowboard in the 17th graphic novel in the Babymouse Series.

Appeal Factors:

  • Adventure/snowboarding story
  • Humorous (narrator is sarcastic and informative)
  • Part of a series (this is the 17th graphic novel in the Babymouse series).
  • Simple black-and-white illustrations, with ascents of pink
  • Multitude of different hand-drawn panel layouts
  • Medium amount of words per panel
  • Short read, 91 pages

Potential Readers:

  • Recommended Age Range: 7 – 10 years

Visual Style: 

  • Multitude of different hand-drawn panel layouts
  • Some of the panels bleed to the edge of the page
  • Detailed and imaginative
  • Simple black-and-white illustrations, with ascents of pink. Speech bubbles and panels are heavily outlined in black.

Textual Style:

  • Babymouse’s dialogue is expressive and humorous. Narrator’s speech is informative and sarcastic.
  • Medium amount of words per panel
  • Some vocabulary is advanced
  • Some panels bleed onto the next page

Awards: The series has won numerous awards including:

  • Children’s Choices Awards
  • Gryphon Award Winner, 2006
  • ALA Notable Children’s Book Winner, 2006
  • New York Book Show Awards Winner, 2006

Additional Information: 

  • Fans of Extreme Babymouse might enjoy reading other graphic novels in the Babymouse series. 
  • Fans of Babymouse might also enjoy Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm’s other graphic novel series Squish. 
  • “Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans.” Booklist
  • “Nobody puts Baby mouse in the corner!” The Horn Book Magazine, Starred Review

owly_vol_5_cover_lg

Runton, Andy. Owly, Vol. 5: Tiny Tales. Marietta, Georgia : Top Shelf Productions, 2008. Print.

Summary: This is the fifth volume in the Owly series. This particular  collection features mini-stories that are no longer in print or previously unpublished. Some of the stories in this collection are “Splashin’ Around,” “Let’s Go Fly a Kite,'” “Bee Nice,” and more.

Appeal Factors:

  • The fifth volume in the Owly series
  • Humorous animal stories
  • Stories about swimming, kite flying, planting flowers, and more.
  • Collection of mini-stories
  • Mostly wordless
  • 172 pages

Potential Readers:

  • Recommended Age Range: 5 – 11 years

Visual Style: 

  • Simple black-and-white illustrations
  • Cartoonist/animated
  • Minimalist
  • Expressive
  • Few panels per page

Textual Style:

  • Thoughts and symbols are portrayed in speech or thought bubbles
  • Mostly wordless, except for some words, such as “Shiver” (page 75) and “Crack” (page 59), and a few others.
  • Some thought bubbles contain “Exclamation Points” (page 101), “Questions Marks” or “Directional Arrows” (page 68).

Awards:  The Owly series has won multiple awards including:

  • Creative Loafing ATL Best Graphic Novelist, 2010
  • Georgia Center For The Book- 25 Books All Young Georgians Should Read!, 2010
  • Eisner Award Best Publication for a Younger Audience Winner, 2006
  • Ignatz Award Best Series Winner, 2006
  • Ignatz Award Promising New Talent Winner, 2005
  • Eisner Award Best Publication for a Younger Audience Nominee, 2005
  • Harvey Award  Best New Talent Winner, 2005
  • Harvey Award Best New Series Nominee, 2005
  • Harvey Award Best Graphic Novel Nominee, 2005
  • Howard E. Day Memorial Prize for “The Way Home” Mini, 2004

Additional Information:

  • There is a bonus section in the back of this graphic novel on “How to Draw Owly!” and lists the titles of “More Owly Books!”.
  • Fans of Owly, Vol. 5: Tiny Tales might enjoy reading other graphic novels in the Owly series.
  • You can find free Owly Comics and Owly Short Stories on Andy Runton Official Website
  • This series is referenced in Nathan Herald’s 2011, Graphic Novels for Young Readers: A Genre Guide for Ages 4-14 (listed under Chapter 4 Fantasy: Parallel World/Reality Shift) and in Michael Pawuk’s 2007, Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More (listed under Chapter 8 Humor: Funny Animals).

9780545132060_p0_v1_s260x420

Telgemeier, Raina. Smile. New York: Graphix, 2010. Print.

Summary: This autobiographical graphic novel, explores the life of Raina Telgemeier and her experiences in middle and high school, dental drama, relationships and more.

Appeal Factors:

  • Autobiographical graphic novel
  • Might appeal to people who have had braces, headgear, retainers, dental drama, dental problems, and more.
  • Relationships with family, friends, and peers
  • Realistic and emotional story
  • Cultural references: Super Mario Brothers, Disney’s The Little Mermaid, New Kids on the Block, Ducktales, The New Mickey Mouse Club, acid-washed denim, hair scrunchies, and more. 
  • Humorous
  • Full color
  • 224 pages

Potential Readers:

  • Recommended Age Range: 8 – 12 years

Visual Style: 

  • Full color (nice and vibrant color palette)
  • Cartoonish, very detailed
  • Realistic and expressive character portrayals
  • Occasional full page bleed that runs to the edge of the page (e.g., on pages 64, 74, and 91).
  • Occasional full page bleed that runs onto the other page (e.g., on pages 66 and 67).

Textual Style:

  • Dialogue is humorous and expressive
  • Text is all capital letters

Awards: 

  • Eisner Award Winner for Best Publication for a Teen Audience
  • Maine Student Book Award Winner, 2012
  • Children’s Choice Book Award Finalist, 2012
  • 
ALA Notable Children’s Book, 2011
  • Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards Honor, 2011
  • 
Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award Winner, 2011
  • Kirkus Best Book for Teens, 2010
  • New York Times Editors’ Choice, 2010
  • Young Adult Library Services Association’s 2011 Top Ten Great Graphic Novels for Teens
  • Association for Library Service to Children Notable Children’s Book for Middle Readers, 2011
  • Intermediate Young Reader’s Choice Award Winner, 2013
  • Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award Winner, 2013

Additional Information:

About the Author- “Raina Telgemeier grew up in San Francisco and moved to New York City, where she earned an illustration degree at the School of Visual Arts. Smile, her critically acclaimed graphic memoir based on her childhood, was a #1 New York Times bestseller and winner of the Eisner Award for Best Publication for Teens, and received a Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor. Raina also adapted and illustrated The Baby-sitters Club graphic novels, which were selected for YALSA’s Great Graphic Novels for Teens list and Booklist’s Top 10 Graphic Novels for Youth list. Raina’s most recent book is Drama. Raina lives in Astoria, New York, with her husband and fellow comics artist, Dave Roman. To learn more,visit her online at www.goRaina.com” Author biography from Scholastic’s website 

Jellaby_cover

Soo, Kean. Jellaby. New York: Hyperion Books for Children, 2008. Print.

Summary:  Jellaby, Is a graphic novel about Portia Bennett, a shy girl who recently moved to a new neighborhood and is trying to adjust to her new life. One night Portia, decides to venture into the woods and finds a friendly purple monster, she names Jellaby. Follow Portia and her classmate Jason, as they try to figure out where Jellaby came from in the first graphic novel in the series.

Appeal Factors: 

  • Might appeal to adventure, mystery, and fantasy fans
  • Purple Monsters/friendship stories
  • Might appeal to fans of Calvin & Hobbes
  • Might appeal to fans who like mostly single color comics or graphic novels, such as Babymouse, Squish, andLunch Lady. 
  • Colored illustrations-Mostly monochromatic (color palette- mostly pinks and purples with hints of other colors-green and orange).
  • 143 pages, reads fast.
  • Fairly short chapters, few words per panel.

Potential Readers:

  • Recommended Age Range: 10 and up

Visual Style: 

  • Clean lines
  • Simplistic
  • Expressive
  • Colored illustrations-Mostly monochromatic (color palette- mostly pinks and purples with hints of other colors-green and orange)

Textual Style:

  • Dialogue is conversational
  • Fairly short chapters, few words per panel.
  • Some panels are completely wordless-lots of empty space

Awards: 

  • Nomination for an Eisner Award for Best Digital Comic 2006
  • Winner of a Schuster Award for Best Comic for Kids 2009

Additional Information: 

  • Fans of Jellaby might enjoy Jellaby, Vol. 2: Monster in the City
  • About the Author-“Born in England and raised in Hong Kong, Kean Soo settled in Canada, where he planned to embark on a career in electrical engineering. However, he discovered that he’d rather draw comics instead. Kean began posting his comics on the internet in 2002, and later became an assistant editor and regular contributor to the all-ages FLiGHT anthologies. His online work has been nominated for several awards, including an Eisner Award nomination for Jellaby. Kean likes carrots, but not nearly as much as he likes tuna sandwiches, usually with lots and lots of wasabi mayonnaise.” Capstone Kids Website
  • A book trailer can be found at the Capstone Kids Website

TITITB_SC_Cover.qx

Baltazar, Art, and Franco Accornero. Tiny Titans: The Treehouse and Beyond! New York ” DC Comics, 2011. Print. 

Summary: Follow the Tiny Titans around, as they take a trip to Atlantis, meet their “Opposite Earth Titans,” and more.

Appeal Factors:

  • This series reimagines familiar DC Superheroes or Sidekicks (Robin, Superboy, Wonder Girl, Raven, and more).
  • Action and Adventure stories
  • Superheroes/children/school
  • Part of  the Tiny Titan series 
  • Fans of the Cartoon Network television show’s Teen Titans or Teen Titans Go! graphic novel series might enjoy this particular title or series.
  • Some DC Universe and pop culture references are thrown in (Superman, Lagoon Boy, Batman, Sidekicks, Batpoles, Alfred, Batcave, Gotham City, and more).
  • Hilarious- some silly jokes and visual gags
  • Full color-cartoony art
  • 144 pages

Potential Readers:

  • Recommended Age Range: 7 – 10 years

Visual Style: 

  • Full color
  • Cartoony art
  • A couple of panels included realistic photos

Textual Style:

  • Dialogue is conversational and sarcastic at times
  • Two-page stories
  • The paper texture reminds me of a coloring book
  • Some speech bubbles and illustrations go outside the panels.

Awards:  

  • Eisner Award Best Publication for Kids Winner, 2009
  • Eisner Award Best Publication for Kids Winner, 2011

Additional Information:  

  • This particular book features Tiny Titans issues #33-38.
  • Fans of Tiny Titans: The Treehouse and Beyond! might enjoy reading other graphic novels in the Tiny Titans Series.
  • This series is referenced in Nathan Herald’s 2011, Graphic Novels for Young Readers: A Genre Guide for Ages 4-14 (listed under Chapter 1 Action and Adventure: Superheroes).
  • About the Author– “Bronx, New York born writer and artist Franco Aureliani has been drawing comics since he could hold a crayon. Currently residing in upstate New York with his wife, Ivette and son, Nicolas, spends most of his days in his Batcave-like studio where he produces DC’s TINY TITANS comics. In 1995, Franco founded Blindwolf Studios, an independent art studio where he and fellow creators can create children’s comics. Franco is the creator, artist and writer of Weirdsville, L’il Creeps, and Eagle All Star, as well as the co-creator and writer of Patrick the Wolf Boy. When he’s not writing and drawing, Franco also teaches high school art.” –Barnes & Noble

 

Advertisements