Superheroes

488316

Kane, Bob, and Bill Finger. Batman: The Dark Knight Archives, Vol. 2. New York: DC Comics, 1995. Print.

Summary: This fascinating volume features, Catwoman, the Penguin, the Joker and introduces readers to the Batmobile.

Appeal Factors:

  • DC Archive Editions
  • Superheroes and Sidekicks-Batman and Robin
  • Action/Adventure/mystery stories
  • The first appearance of the Batmobile is on page 16
  • Clear arch types
  • Literary references (Humpty Dumpty, Cyclops, one- eyed giant, the bean stalk from Jack and the Beanstalk).
  • Simple stories
  • Full color- Pop arty style (flashy and bright primary color palette)
  • There is a “Forward” page at the beginning of this book and a biographies page found at the back of the book.
  • 222 pages

Potential Readers:

  • Might be more suited for teens and adults

Visual Style: 

  • Glossy paper
  • Vintage/retro
  • Full color-Pop art style(flashy and bright primary color palette).
  • Lots of white space at the top and bottom of the pages.
  • Panels or interior splash panels take place in the middle of the pages (e.g., on pages 117 and 170).

Textual Style:

  • Dialogue is conversational and melodramatic
  • Lots of speech bubbles and words per panel
  • Some of the text is very hard to read
  • Text is all capital letters
  • Some of the text can be found in yellow or tan square or rectangular speech bubbles (e.g., on pages 16 and 83).
  • Some panels had panel numbers (located in the left corner). These numbers might signify, which order to read the panels in (e.g., on pages 35 and 37).

Awards:

  • No notable awards for this specific collection.

Additional Information:

  • Batman: The Dark Knight Archives, Vol. 2. collection includes “The early adventures of Batman, The Dark Knight! From the pages of Batman #5-8!” -From the back cover of Batman: The Dark Knight Archives, Vol. 2
  • The Batmobile makes it’s the first appearance in this particular volume on page 16.
  • The Penguin, Catwoman, and the Joker also make appearances in this particular comic’s volume.
  • Is referenced in Michael Pawuk’s 2007, Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More (listed under Chapter 1 Super-Heroes: Super-Hero Icons).

9781401235758_p0_v1_s260x420

Morrison, Grant, Cameron Stewart, and Andy Clarke. Batman & Robin, Vol. 2 : Batman vs. Robin. New York:  DC Comics, 2011. Print. 

Summary:  In Batman & Robin, Vol. 2 : Batman vs. Robin the new Batman and Robin, are on a mission to figure out the mystery behind Bruce Wayne’s death and attempts to revive him.

Appeal Factors:

  • DC Comics
  • Batwoman and Knight & Squire make an appearance in this particular volume
  • Flying Batmobile
  • Action/adventure/mystery stories
  • Full color artwork-darker tones
  • Extra features in the back of the comic; “Rogues’ Gallery” (Batman and Robin logos and issue covers) and New Characters” (artwork and descriptions)
  • Literary references (Mary Poppins chimney sweeps, such as on pages 31-33)
  • Medium amount of words per panel, some panels are completely wordless (e.g., on page 106 and 128)
  • 168 pages

Potential Readers:

  • Might be more suited for teens and adults

Visual Style: 

  • Full color artwork -darker tones
  • Detailed and vivid artwork
  • Grim
  • Noir
  • Each story arc, in this particular volume, was done by a different artist (first story “Blackest Knight” artwork by Cameron Stewart and the second story “Batman vs. Robin” artwork by Andy Clarke).
  • Lots of full page bleeds that runs to the edge of the page (e.g., pages 80 and 122).
  • Some pages have illustrations that bleed into one another. Thick black panels act as a divider between the two pages, such as on pages 48-49 and on pages 56-57.
  • Some pages have illustrations that bleed into one another, where there is no panel division on one side of the page (e.g., on pages 34 and 35).
  • On pages 146 and 147 there is a double splash panel.

Textual Style:

  • Dialogue is conversational
  • Red musical notes and song lyrics can be found in some of the speech bubbles (representing people singing, such as on page 17)
  • Text is all capital letters
  • Medium amount of words per panel, some panels are completely wordless (e.g., on page 106 and 128)

Awards:

  • Grant Morrison, “In the last 5 years, his books have won multiple major industry awards, including The Eisner Award for best series three times for ALL STAR SUPERMAN and best limited series SEVEN SOLDIERS. Morrison has also won several Harvey Awards including Best Writer in 2009, a Scream Award, and attained Lifetime Achievement status at the British Eagle Awards. In 2011, he received five awards from Kapow! Stan Lee to Eagle’s including Best Writer at each, and Best Comic for Batman and Robin.” –Grant Morrison’s Offical Website 

Additional Information: 

  • Grant Morrison, “was the first comic book writer to be included as one of Entertainment Weekly’s top 100 creative people in America.” Grant Morrison’s Offical Website 
  • Morrison in 2008, “wrote the two top selling DC Comics titles FINAL CRISIS, and BATMAN. The controversial BATMAN R.I.P. storyline which has revolutionised the character was caught in a worldwide press storm with reports of Grant ‘killing Batman’ in every major newspaper and on TV. In 2013, he completed a seven year run on the BATMAN franchise having created the best-selling BATMAN & ROBIN. In 2009, he brought Bruce Wayne back into comic continuity in the series, BATMAN: THE RETURN OF BRUCE WAYNE, and wrapped up the saga in BATMAN INCORPORATED: LEVIATHAN.” –Grant Morrison’s Offical Website 

+-+60320149_140

Lee, Stan, and Steve Ditko. Marvel Masterworks Presents the Amazing Spider-Man: Reprinting The Amazing Spider-Man Nos. 1-10 & Amazing Fantasy No. 15. New York, N.Y. : Marvel Comics, 2001. Print.

Summary: This particular collection contains the first appearances of some of Spider-Man’s menacing enemies; The Sandman, Chameleon, Doctor Doom, Doctor Octopus, The Vulture, The Lizard, Electro, and more.

Appeal Factors:

  • Marvel Masterworks
  • Introduction to the collection by Stan Lee (co-creator of the Avengers, Iron Man, Thor, X-Men, and many more).
  • Afterword by Peter Sanderson (comic book historian and critic).
  • Superheroes-Spiderman
  • Action-Adventure stories
  • First appearances of The Sandman, Chameleon, Doctor Doom, Doctor Octopus, The Vulture, The Lizard, Electro, and more.
  • Clear arc types
  • Full color-pop art style (flashy and bright primary color palette).
  • Might be more suited for teens and adults

Potential Readers:

  • Might be more suited for teens and adults

Visual Style: 

  • Glossy paper
  • Full color-Pop art style(flashy and bright primary color palette).
  • Vintage/retro
  • Lots of white space at the top and bottom of the pages.
  • Panels or interior splash panels take place in the middle of the pages (e.g., on pages 133 and 177).

Textual Style:

  • Dialogue is conversational and melodramatic
  • Lots of speech bubbles and words per panel. Some of the text is very hard to read
  • Text is all capital letters
  • Some of the text can be found in yellow or pink square or rectangular speech bubbles (e.g., on pages 11, 19, 129, and 179).
  • Some panels had panel numbers (located in the left corner). These numbers might signify, which order to read the panels in (page 35 and 37).

Awards: 

  • Alley Award: Best Short Story—”Origin of Spider-Man” by Stan Lee and Steve Ditko, Amazing Fantasy #15, 1962
  • Alley Award: Best Comic: Adventure Hero title—The Amazing Spider-Man, 1963
  • Alley Award: Top Hero—Spider-Man, 1963
  • Alley Award: Best Adventure Hero Comic Book—The Amazing Spider-Man, 1964
  • Alley Award: Best Giant Comic – The Amazing Spider-Man Annual #1, 1964
  • Alley Award: Best Hero—Spider-Man, 1964
  • Alley Award: Best Adventure Hero Comic Book—The Amazing Spider-Man, 1965
  • Alley Award: Best Hero—Spider-Man, 1965

Additional Information: 

  • Is referenced in Michael Pawuk’s 2007, Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More (listed under Chapter 1 Super-Heroes: Super-Hero Icons).
  • Marvel Masterworks presents the Amazing Spider-Man: reprinting The Amazing Spider-Man Nos. 1-10 & Amazing Fantasy No. 15 consists of Amazing Fantasy #15 & Amazing Spider-Man #1-10 (1962–1964).

5869258

McKeever, Sean, and Patrick Scherberger.Spider-Man in Vulture Hunt!. Spotlight library bound ed. Edina, Minnesota : Spotlight, 2007. Print.

Summary: In this new retelling of Spider-Man, we get to meet some of his meanest villains such as; The Vulture and Kraven the Hunter. We are also introduced to the new photographer for the Daily Bugle, Andy Anderson.

Appeal Factors:

  • Marvel Age
  • Dialogue is expressive
  • Illustrations are active and action-packed
  • Full color artwork
  • 24 pages

Potential Readers:

  • Might appeal more to kids, but for all ages

Visual Style: 

  • Glossy paper
  • Illustrations are active and action-packed
  • Full color artwork
  • Some pages have illustrations that bleed into one another. Thick white panels act as a divider between the two pages (e.g., on pages 16 and 17).
  • Some pages have illustrations that bleed into one another,  where there is no panel division on one side of the page (e.g., on pages 10 and 11).

Textual Style:

  • Dialogue is expressive
  • Some of the text in the multi-colored blue square speech bubbles is hard to read.

Awards:

  • No notable awards for this specific title.

Additional Information: 

9781595822420_p0_v1_s260x420

Benson, Amber, Christopher Golden, Daniel Brereton, Andi Watson , and Doug Petrie. Buffy the Vampire Slayer Omnibus, Volume 6. Milwaukie, Oregon : Dark Horse Books, 2009. Print.

Summary: This particular volume delves more into the relationship of Willow and Tara,  Buffy and Angel working together to fight new enemies, and story lines revolving around Dawn.

Appeal Factors:

  • Action/fantasy/magic/horror
  • Supernatural Heroes-Buffy Summers, Vampire Slayer
  • Episodic
  • Might appeal to fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel.
  • Might appeal to fans of vampire movies, books, and television shows.
  • Contains stories set during Season 4 and Season 5 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer television series
  • Lots of action-packed fight scenes
  • Humorous
  • Full color-anime style
  • Medium amount of words per panel
  • 393 pages

Potential Readers:

  • Recommended Age Range: 14 – 17 years and older

Visual Style: 

  • Full color-anime style
  • Cinematic
  • Minimalist/simplistic style
  • Some panels scenes are gory
  • The characters barely resemble those from the Buffy the Vampire Slayer television series.

Textual Style:

  • Dialogue is conversational and expressive
  • Each character has their own text when narrating (some of the text is hard to read, such as on page 301)
  • Medium amount of words per panel
  • Text is all capital letters
  • Sound effects are in large, bright, and bold colored lettering (e.g., on pages 120 and 156).

Awards: 

  • No notable awards for this specific collection.

Additional Information: 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s